Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album The Ascension – Pitchfork

Sufjan Stevens has announced a new album. Billed as the follow-up to Carrie & Lowell, The Ascension comprises 15 new songs from the singer-songwriter and comes with a 16-page booklet of his drawings. It’s out September 25 on Asthmatic Kitty. The 12-minute lead single, “America,” is out Friday. Check out the tracklist and Sufjan-designed cover art below.

Find physical editions of Sufjan Stevens’ The Ascension at Rough Trade. (Pitchfork earns a commission from purchases made through affiliate links on our site.)

Earlier this year, Sufjan and Lowell Brams released an album called Aporia. Read “Spokesman for Sanity,” Pitchfork’s 2017 feature on Sufjan.

The Ascension:

01 Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
02 Run Away With Me
03 Video Game
04 Lamentations
05 Tell Me You Love Me
06 Die Happy
07 Ativan
08 Ursa Major
09 Landslide
10 Gilgamesh
11 Death Star
12 Goodbye To All That
13 Sugar
14 The Ascension
15 America

Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album The Ascension